Note: You may be prompted to enter your VCU eID and password.
Description: VoiceThread is a tool that allows multisensory collaboration between faculty and students. Instructors can deliver their content using rich multimedia to enhance the engagement of their students. It allows audio, video, and text comments on uploaded documents, presentations, images, and video. There are no new usernames or passwords to learn, and rosters are synced automatically.
Note: The limitation is 3 GB per upload. Users can have multiple uploads of that size in a single VoiceThread but any one file cannot exceed this size. Comments recorded on the slides of a VoiceThread (each audio and video/webcam) comment is limited to 60 minutes in duration and can be used without limitation.
Student Preview mode DOES NOT work with VoiceThread. There is currently no way to view a VoiceThread from a student perspective unless you are a student.
Platform: Windows & Mac
Cost: No Charge
VoiceThread has upgraded their platform making it simpler, more accessible, and more powerful. Users have the option to opt in (and opt out if you change your mine) whenever you are ready.
Note: Legacy VoiceThread will be supported until summer 2024; at which point all users will automatically be transitioned to "New VoiceThread."
For more information about New VoiceThread, new/upcoming features, and discontinued features, see the New VoiceThread is Here! blog.
Watch the New VoiceThread Workshop Tutorial for a more intimate experience.
Turn On New VoiceThread
Accessing your VoiceThread home page, click on the menu icon next to your identity image and select “Display preferences.”
For technical support, please email: email@example.com
Helpful items to include:
- Email address you use to access VoiceThread
- Web browser you are using
- A screenshot of your problem
- A detailed summary of the issue
Starting on July 1, 2022, VoiceThread will be implementing a data clean-up policy that might result in some inactive accounts being deleted. The following policies will apply to users under VCU's license:
Account has never been accessed: Will be deleted 1 year after it was created.
Account has been accessed but no content has been created: Will be deleted after 1 year of inactivity.
Account owner has created content: Will be deleted after 2 years of inactivity. The owner of the account will be notified by email 30 days in advance so they can take action if they would like. If someone wants to ensure their account is not deleted automatically, all they need to do is sign in at least once per year.
Please don't hesitate to contact us at firstname.lastname@example.org with any questions.
The VoiceThread Team